besan ladoo

One of the most recognisable exotic sweets from the Indian continent, besan ladoo are deliciously nutty and sweet, half gooey and half crumby.

If I remember rightly, the very first time I made the foray into the dizzying world of Indian desserts  I spent the afternoon making besan ladoo.  I found the word so cute to say; “ladoo”, “ladoo”, that I reasoned if I wanted to keep saying the word, I’d better learn how to make them.  That was summers ago now, but I still enjoy the aromas of roasting besan, the satisfaction of moulding ladoo into balls of sweetness and of course, any excuse to say ladoo! 🙂

R0021540.jpg

Like the name suggests, these ladoo are made primarily from besan (otherwise known as chickpea flour, or gram flour), then mixed with ghee and finished with a very subtle hint of cardamon. The besan base ensures they’re a healthy but surprisingly delicious snack and goodness, they have best texture you can imagine – Mum told me they taste almost like fudge. The deep golden honey colour, the heavenly smell, the tempting nuts across the top – irresistible!

Ladoo are usually eaten for Diwali and gifted to friends and family – You could even create a beautiful gifting hamper with a selection of specially made homemade sweets, using my recipes like gajar burfi | indian carrot fudge and coconut & rose ladoo truffles as inspiration.

Besan Ladoo

  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 220g Besan
  • 110g Melted Butter / Ghee
  • 170g Caster Sugar
  • 4 Green cardamon, powered/crushed
  • Pistachios and Almonds to garnish


Directions

  1. Tip the besan into a frying pan and roast it dry, stirring continuously, until it releases a nutty aroma and turns golden. Don’t over roast the besan or it will burn, so keep stirring always.
  2. Meanwhile, melt ghee or butter and keep aside.
  3. After about 10 minutes of continuously stirring the besan, add the melted ghee/butter and stir again more, until the ghee is completely mixed and the besan is smelling even stronger.
  4. Remove from the heat and continue to stir, leave to cool slightly and then add the fine caster sugar. Mix very well until totally incorporated.
  5. Finally add the powdered cardamon and mix once again.
  6. Now set the mixture aside and let it cool until you can handle it. Squeeze and roll the  mixture together in your hands to make round balls with smooth exterior. You can oil your hands to shape them if you are having problems.

You can store ladoos in an airtight container at room temperature for around a week.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. jyo says:

    One of my most fav ladoo….looks damn good✌✌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! Can’t decide if I liked coconut ones better https://straygourmet.wordpress.com/2017/02/16/coconut-rose-ladoo-truffles/ . I love experimenting with ladoo!

      Like

  2. One of my fav sweets & yes the aroma of roasting the chickpea flour in ghee or clarified butter is something else !!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yummy!!! I love besan laddoo!!!

    Like

  4. Awe my grandma’s signature dish and fun fact- she calls me her little laddoo too!😄 (long story short, I was a fat kid!) She gave me a big batch of besan laddoos to carry with me to Ireland this time during our visit but umm…no surprises that they were finished even before I left India!😉 These look absolutely amazing!😋 Yum! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Loved your story Mallika ❤ Thank you so much for sharing 😀 I’m not surprised they were gone so quickly, I would have been just the same!! Does your Grandma put fruits in the besan ladoo? I prefer them without but next time I might try them as well .. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanx Ellanor! My grandma never puts fruits in them ( in fact, I have never heard of fruits being used in these laddoos…) but something that’s a must in her laddoos, are these dried musk-melon seeds that you get readily at any grocery store in India. They are crunchy and flavorful to bite into. Also, I think she puts finely chopped roasted almonds too! xx

        Like

  5. Megala says:

    Sounds flavorful & delicious!

    Like

  6. Yum! So delicious and beautiful picture!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

