mystery blogger | award

Just when I think I’m ready to start writing a blog post … just when I’ve put my next recipe in the making into the oven, I decide I’m also going to make ice cream by hand –  and there goes the idea of leisurely writing a blog post to the smell of baking cakes!

Well, here I am, and I’ve got some exciting news to share: I’ve been nominated for my second ever wordpress award, the first of which was the one lovely blog award. This time I’ve been nominated by Megala, who I’ve been following for a long time. She’s a consistent blogger who posts the most delicious, exciting, simple and traditional vegetarian Indian dishes.

I am so thankful to be part of a community that actively encourages, supports, and motivates each other. The reason I love to take part in these awards is to spread recognition and encourage other creative bloggers. A special thanks to the creator of the Mystery Blogger Award, Okoto Enigma.

“Mystery Blogger Award” is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion. – Okoto Enigma

Rules:

  1. Put the award logo/image on your blog post.
  2. List the rules.
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link.
  5. Tell readers 3 things about yourself.
  6. Answer the questions the blogger gave to you .
  7. Nominate 10-20 people.
  8. Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog.
  9. Ask nominees 5 questions of your choice (one weird/funny question).
  10. Share link to your best post(s).



3 things about me: 

  • I only started cooking a few years ago as I had more time at home after I left education. I’ve always favoured home cooked food as a vegetarian (from birth), because it’s so hard to find decent eating-out options here in the UK, but now it’s a passion.
  • I like to meditate and chant/pray.
  • I love to do gardening. I have a garden full of pretty flowers, blossoms, fuchsia bushes, trailing sweet fragrant flowers. I’ve been attempting to grow jasmine for several years, but it’s never flowered … I’m thinking of growing it indoors this time, so I can make gajra. I also have a herb collection, and we used to have a plot of land for growing fruits and vegetables.

Questions and Answers:

According to you what is the most precious thing to be preserved for the future generation?

Of course I think the most precious thing on the planet is the sheer abundance of extraordinary nature that we have. I would like to see the world’s corporations and governments move faster into a more green economy so future generations can have the same (or better) standard of life we have, experience firsthand the many wondrous animals, plant species, and enjoy the sheer magnitude of life on Earth. Our quality of life, both physically and emotionally, is largely dependent on having a healthy environment to live in.

Emotionally I want hope to be preserved and shared; to be unending. A generation of cynical or torn-down people would be detrimental. For that to prevail we need to all take steps to better our own dispositions and be kind and loving in our everyday lives, especially in this current climate. Hope is something we should all cherish.

An incident that mades you feel proud about yourself?

I try to feel proud of my actions often as it helps me maintain a positive attitude and appreciate my successes where there aren’t many other people to recognise them.

One occasion I can think of is when I had my piece of encaustic artwork selected to be the cover-page image of an arts & culture magazine. As well as being a personal moment, this was something that I could indirectly share with thousands of people. My niece also took great joy from telling her teachers at the local arts secondary school, that her Aunt had painted the cover page of the magazine they were showing. I felt then that I can show her what she can do with her talents, and be an inspiration.

If you were given a chance for rebirth, what life do you prefer to take?

Although I’ve meditated often, I’ve had no inklings of my past lives. I think if I had to be reborn again rather than attaining ‘nirvana’ through liberation of samsara, I think I’d probably like to be reborn again as a woman (for our sacred blessing of creation) of a different culture and nationality, living a simple life. I feel certain though, that I will meet some people from this life in my next.

Name the person(s) whom you adore so much and why?

I have a pure and innocent love for my sunshine, Nikhilesh. We were meant to meet, I’ve felt that from the beginning – now the care and passion has blossomed into something more eternal; a sweetness, a warmth, a mellowness. He has such a kind and giving heart, a humble intelligence, a gentle living and a strong spirit, zeal. There is nothing; no-one, who captures so brilliantly the warm essence of the sun, the comfort of the moon, the softness of the earth and the raw energy of the ocean within their morning smiles. Regardless of our future, I feel a bond that transcends the limitations of time, of this life, of this body. My soulmate.

I also have a timeless bond with my close family. Especially my niece and nephew, as I have been blessed with living life along side them as they grew from tiny babies to excitable children and now, for the eldest, a grumpy teenager!

What is your favorite holiday destination?

Ah. I have visited too many cities and countries now to choose a firm favourite. I’ve connected to everywhere, and I feel that the best is yet to come. However, Florence has always held a special place in my heart as it was the first out-of-country city I visited on holiday, and since then I’ve been back several times as the charm of the place never fails to lure me.

I also have a sweet spot for a little radar station perched high on the South Cornish Coast with a patio overlooking a wide bay and sea as far as the eyes can see – that was the holiday of my childhood, and so many happy weeks were spent there.

Thank you Megala for the really thought provoking questions! 🙂

My nominees:

  1. Went Looking
  2. Aromas of my Kitchen 
  3. My Arab Life
  4. Jenny Bean Love
  5. Indian Fusion
  6. My tiny Green Kitchen
  7. Happiness is just a few bites away
  8. Living in Bloom
  9. Smart Veg Recipes
  10. Italiophilia
  11. Jalvis Foodie
  12. Foreign Indian Wife
  13. Ritz’s Flavours 
  14. Optional Poetry
  15. Cooking with a Wallflower
  16. Astonishing India
  17. Two bit Tart
  18. Pleasant Pheasant Cuisine 
  19. A Foodie Housewife
  20. Salt Sand Moon

My questions for the nominees:

  1. Where, what, and with who is your vision of a perfect day?
  2. What is the most beautiful word in any language, and why?
  3. The strangest way you express yourself?
  4. Your first thought before you wake up and go to sleep?
  5. Something, even that you’ve read or heard, that has changed your life forever?

My best posts:

Palak Parathas | Rose & Coconut Ladoo |Gajar ki Burfi | Mushroom & Parsley Arancini | White Chocolate Raspberry Cake | Aubergine and Halloumi Burgers

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Megala says:

    Great post !
    I am sorry I missed to see your post! Thanks for your beautiful answers, really enjoyed reading this post! And about your best posts, yes, these are all my favorite recipes too! Congrats again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Megala 🙂 No problems , I really enjoyed answering your questions and thank you again for nominating me. Really made me smile!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations….and thanks so much for nomination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 You deserve it. Such yummy recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for nominating my blog for this award. I am honoured.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome. You certainly deserve it 🙂 I am always learning interesting new things from you …

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Okoto Enigma says:

    I bloody love the award logo you used. Did you create it? And the pictures of those food though 😍 btw congratulations on your award😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Thank you so much, it’s sort of an honour to have a comment from the creator of the award! 😀 I will definitely be following your blog now.
      I did make the logo, please feel free to use it (if you want of course). And of course to try any of the recipes. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okoto Enigma says:

        Hahaha thanks 😊 the logo is super pretty and I was like “wow!” And recipe means food so why not 😅😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

