one lovely blog | award

My kitchen has been undergoing some work in the past weeks after it suffered a water-leak from upstairs. Currently our maple worktops are being sanded down in preparation for the walls to be stripped and re-plastered, which means that my cooking has been a bit haphazard – a lone hob on a platform in the middle of the room – very elegant! I thought I would take this opportunity to write a more personal blog post, integrating the immensely satisfying step in my blogs progress, below  …

So, my first point of call is to thank the wonderful chef Anuradha in nominating me for the ‘One Lovely Blog Award’. This is the first time I’ve received any awards for my blog, so it’s marking a really exciting occasion for me! Anuradha ji posts absolutely mouth watering recipes from all over the world, but she focuses on traditional Indian cuisine – meaning lots of vegetarian fare. If you’re feeling peckish be sure to head over to her site, aromas of my kitchen.

Here’s a little banner I created as a ‘badge’ of honour for my nomination.

1478113721201tnf.jpg

The rules of the ‘one lovely blog award’ are as follows:

  • Post to accept the nomination.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
  • List 7 things about yourself.
  • Link to the blogs you nominate.
  • Notify the recipients of their award.
  • Post the rules!

Here goes: seven things about myself. 

  • I live in a seaside city on the South-West coast of England. We have miles of beautiful coastline and a National Park on our doorstep, with many standing stones and stone circles. It’s also the place where the Sherlock Holmes story The Hounds of the Baskervilles is set! I’ve always lived in the same country, in the same city, and the same house – so this really is my home. However, most places can feel like home if you are happy and bring love with you.
Scan 3.jpeg
A patch of barren moorland. © Ellanor Aquitaine
dscf1714
The seafront of the city. © Ellanor Aquitaine
  • I also run a travel blog called islinya. ‘Islinya’ means ‘underline’ in Cornish, which is the dwindling language of the neighbour to my home-county and very close to my heart.  I love to take photographs and write prose poetry, so this is a good outlet for both of my passions. I have travelled to France, Italy, Germany, Malta, Hungary, Denmark, Czech-Republic, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland and Austria, so far.
13268256_1003963996317778_8653326235511172231_o
Street photography in Milan, Italy. © Ellanor Aquitaine
13738363_1041785282535649_9219349650254052893_o
The golden streets of Valetta, Malta. © Ellanor Aquitaine
  • I classify myself as an artist. I have had my artwork published on the cover of a magazine at the tender age of 17, and in the future I am hoping to turn it into a fully fledged livelihood. At the moment my vision is to see my artwork in colossal size in a gallery, where I am holding a show opening.
ellanor-aquitaine-bucolic
Bucolic © Ellanor Aquitaine
ellanor-aquitaine-conflate
Conflate © Ellanor Aquitaine
  • Main ek angrez ladki hoon, aur ve Hindi sikh rahi hoon. Ab main kuch saral Hindi shabd samajhti hoon, aur main ek choti Hindi bolte hoon. I am an English girl and I am learning Hindi. Now I understand some simple Hindi words, and I speak a little Hindi.
    I absolutely love wearing sarees, kurti, lehenga … and I hope one day I can visit India. This Diwali I wore a bright red silk sari with a gold-beige long sleeved blouse and gold borders, a nathni and mehendi on my hands – but unfortunately no pictures.

15995554_1196020893778753_1325240249_n

  • I write poetry and prose on my collection of typewriters. Each typewriter has it’s own character and way of typing, believe it or not. Having to press each key and being unable to correct my mistakes or change my words means I am more deliberate about what I write, but also offers me freedom and fluidity.  One day, I would love to publish a book of either poetry or a work of fiction. Love is my main inspiration, as clichéd as it is.
scan-10
“being” © Ellanor Aquitaine
  • It’s a hobby to make my own books. I bind them by hand,  sewing the pages together using traditional bookbinding techniques, make my own book-board, and decorate them in varying ways. There is a quaintness and special quality about keeping lesser-known crafts alive and thriving.

13738344_1039012019479642_3514053725293809416_o13738180_1039012036146307_8156649396228781144_o

13710544_1039012189479625_1803274114523648092_o
The gilded edges of a book.
  • I dropped out of school when I was 15. At the time I was dealing with a myriad of problems such as lifelong school phobia, clinical depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder.

I want to nominate the following blogs: (Although you are under no obligation to accept this award)

  • my little green kitchen, because I admire her ethos in cooking and dedication to gorgeous and delicious ingredients.
  • ministry of curry, because who doesn’t love indian food – and this is indian food at it’s best.
  • my gf home bakery, because of the delicious dishes served in simplicity and perfection.
  • more stomach, because of the most delectable food styling and photography.
  • kitchen habits, because this blog introduces me to many greek recipes I had never heard of before.
  • jenny bean love, for health-conscious dishes that manage to be mouth-watering too.
  • yum yes please,  one of my favourites from my first explorations on wordpress.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you so much for accepting the award and for your kind words.All the best for your future endeavours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I am very honoured. Thank you so much for your best wishes. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

